

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Helena Berger, Chair – Former CEO, American Association of People with Disabilities

Jane Deland, Vice Chair - Co-Founder, FDR Committee

Carlos Avila, Secretary – Bilingual Multicultural Education Program Specialist, New Mexico Public Education Department

Mary E. Dolan, Executive Director - Co-Founder, FDR Committee

Christopher D. Bell, Esq. – Chairman, Board of Trustees, University of the District of Columbia; Deputy Counsel General, The Conservation Fund

Arlene King-Berry, J.D. – Professor, University of the District of Columbia; Chair of Faculty Senate

Mary Kay Turner - Retired Educator

ADVISORY BOARD

Leslie Guadalupe Alarcon – Inspector, DC Regulatory Agency

Joyce A. Bender – CEO and Founder, Bender Consulting Services, Inc.

Jim Dickson, Co-Founder, FDR Committee; Retired Vice President, American Association of People with Disabilities

Ambassador Luis Gallegos – Former Foreign Minister and Ambassador to the US and UN from Ecuador

Steven Graham – President, Robert Graham Studio

Senator Tom Harkin - Retired - Iowa

Judith Heumann – Posthumous Emeritus, International Disability Rights Advocate

Dr. I. King Jordan, Ph.D. – President Emeritus, Gallaudet University

John D. Kemp – President and CEO, Lakeshore Foundation

John P. Langan – Chief Industry Officer-Regulated Industries CliftonLarsonAllen LLP

Christine Liao – Program Manager, American Association of People with Disabilities

Meg O'Connell – President, Global Disability Inclusion

Katherine Ott – Curator, Smithsonian Museum of American History

Paul M. Sparrow – Former Director, Franklin D. Roosevelt Library and Museum

William Raimondo – Former Lieutenant, Hasbrouck Heights, NJ Fire Department

Louise Raymond – Founder and CEO, LRaymond Advisors

Anna Eleanor Roosevelt – Board Chair, Roosevelt Institute

Christopher du Pont Roosevelt, J.D. – Of Counsel, Shapiro Gettinger Waldinger & Monteleone, LLP

James Roosevelt, Jr., J.D. – Counsel Verrill Dana LLP

Richard Allen Simms – Executive Director, DC Center for Independent Living

David B. Woolner, Ph.D. – Senior Fellow and Resident Historian, Roosevelt Institute

FDR MEMORIAL LEGACY COMMITTEE

April 5, 2023

Via Email

Mr. Jeffrey Reinbold Superintendent, NPS – National Mall and Memorial Parks 900 Ohio Drive, SW Washington, DC 20024

Dear Superintendent Reinbold:

We the undersigned write to express our concern for the proposed project: "Rehabilitate Tidal Basin and West Potomac Park Seawalls." As proposed, this project can exacerbate flooding in the untreated areas of the Tidal Basin including the Franklin Delano Roosevelt Memorial, the Martin Luther King Jr. Memorial, the Japanese Pagoda and Japanese Lantern. It is alarming that such national treasures could be put at such risk.

It is understood that the threat of flooding comes from the introduction of a rehabilitated seawall *and* from other climate change related events including the increase of storm surges and more frequent extreme rain events. This project does not account for these realities. Of note, the recent modest one-foot storm surge of March 25, 2023 created significant overtopping of the seawall and led to standing water all along the Tidal Basin including at the MLK Memorial, the Japanese Lantern and all the way to the FDR Memorial and the Japanese Pagoda. In addition, the proposed seawall in Tidal Basin West creates the potential for wraparound flooding that would directly impact the FDR Memorial and the Japanese Pagoda.

It has been reported that the flooding in Tidal Basin East can be alleviated with the restoration of the Tidal Basin Inlet gates to their historic function. As it is well known, the Army Corps of Engineers received funding to repair the gates. It is only sensible and good government to factor in these repairs to ensure a coordinated and fiscally responsible approach to the Tidal Basin.

No alternatives to the NPS plan have been proposed. This does not serve the public well. In addition to the concerns for significant damage and/or destruction of national memorials and cherished artwork along the Tidal Basin, the environmental assessment and geo tech reports discuss plans for the destruction of wetlands. This is troubling as wetlands defend against flooding. Wetlands and cultural resources enjoy protection from the National Environmental Protection Act.

We call on NPS to slow down this project to allow for additional voices to be heard especially scientists and coastal flooding experts and other concerned

citizens. We call for additional options for consideration that will protect all assets equally, account for climate change realities, and that coordinate at-the- ready flooding mitigation such as the inlet gates.

Sincerely,

Mary Dolan, Co-Founder and Executive Director, FDR Memorial Legacy Committee

John Tobe, Chair, National Japanese American Memorial Foundation (NJAMF)

Paula Fujiwara

Dr. Karen Korematsu, Founder & Executive Director, Fred T. Korematsu Institute

Sylvia Campbell

Donald L. Hayashi, President, Dayton Chapter Japanese American Citizens League

Mary Teruko Abo, Friends of Minidoka, Bainbridge Island Japanese American Community, Alaska JACL

Eileen Yamada Lamphere, President, Puyallup Valley Chapter of the Japanese American Citizens League

Ray Walton

Regina Lee

Amanda Briggs

John Kemp, President & CEO, Lakeshore Foundation

Jack Dolan

Paul Sparrow, Advisory Board Member, FDR Memorial Legacy Committee

William Raimondo

Dr. I. King Jordan, Advisory Board Member, FDR Memorial Legacy Committee

Steven Graham, Robert Graham Studio

Serena Jaros, Philanthropy Coordinator, Northwestern Medicine

Mary Kay Turner, Board Member, FDR Memorial Legacy Committee

Jane Deland, Co-Founder and Vice Chair, FDR Memorial Legacy Committee

Rob Guttenberg, L.C.P.C

Tom Olin, Tom Olin Collection

Nora L. Cameron

Samuel Gladstone

Rosalie Boone
Michael Chapman
Kyoko Nancy Oda
John Langan
Regan Linton
Holly Deland
Melissa R. Deland
Susan Livesay
Christopher Livesay
Frank Deland
Arlene R King-Berry, Professor, University of the District of Columbia, Board Member, FDR Memorial Legacy Committee
Christopher Brick, The Eleanor Roosevelt Papers
Susan Slocum
Martha Slocum
W. Scott Slocum
Aubree Penney
David McAllister-Wilson, President, Wesley Theological Seminary
Jeanette Cordova
Christopher du P. Roosevelt, Esq., Of Counsel, Shapiro Gettinger Waldinger & Monteleone, LLP, Advisory Board Member, FDR Memorial Legacy Committee
Jim Dickson, Co- founder FDR Memorial Legacy Committee
Cheryl Fogle-Hatch
Helena Berger, Chair, Board of Directors, FDR Memorial Legacy Committee
Catherine Johnides